Annual Distinguished Young Women of Bremen event is Aug. 17

BREMEN — Distinguished Young Women of Bremen, formerly Bremen’s Junior Miss, will be holding its annual program on Saturday, Aug. 17, 7 p.m. at the Bowen Auditorium.
There will be seven young women competing for this year’s title. 
Television personality Dean Huppert with WSJV will emcee the program this year.
Taking part this year are Shianne Mammon, Claire Schmidt, Dania Alvarado, Bay Cope, Alexis Pate, Sara Slabaugh and Madison Anne Stover.
The Seven contestants will compete for the title of the 2014 Distinguished Young Woman of Bremen and over $2,000 in cash scholarships.
The DYW Program is full of scholarship opportunities for high school senior girls.
Since it began, DYW/Jr Miss has awarded young women scholarships for their academic and on-stage performances.
Each contestant is judged in five categories: scholastic achievement, talent, interview, fitness and self-expression.
Admission is $6 and children 3 and under are free. Tickets for the show are being pre-sold by the contestants and will be available at he door prior to the show
If you would like to volunteer or donate to the organization, contact Lisa Lemler at (574) 933-3105.